Dawson County Raceway
NewsSchedulePointsSponsorsPhotosDriversGearRulesTrack InfoLinks
News & Results
Monday, May 27, 2013
Racing Action Outruns the Storm on Memorial Day at Dawson County Raceway

On a rail was Kearney, Nebraska's Denny Egge as he claimed the Feature crown in the IMCA Northern Sport Mods Feature on Monday evening at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Nebraska.

 Taking home the big paydays were David Murray Jr, Denny Egge, Casey Werkmeister, Jason Wilkinson and David Dembowski after they all were victorious in winning their divisions at the Memorial Day Special Races held at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Nebraska on Monday evening.
 Racing veteran David Murray Jr. of Oberlin, Kansas knows the fastest way around the 3/8 mile oval at Dawson County Raceway, as he rolled to the IMCA Modified victory after snaring the lead on the fourth lap and never relinquishing the point. Coming from his third row starting position, Cozad, Nebraska’s Colton Osborn worked his way onto the podium with clutch driving to the tune of a runner-up finish. Casey Delp of Rock Springs, Wyoming was near the front the whole feature, as he led the first three laps. Delp staying up on the wheel and his efforts were rewarded with a third place finish. Scoring top five finishes were Grand Island’s Brooke Eilts and Eddie Edwards of McCook in fourth and fifth, respectively. In early night heat races, Cale Osborn of Cozad and Eddyville, Nebraska’s Chuck Stryker took the checkered flags.
 Staying near the front and out of trouble was the formula for success for Kearney’s Denny Egge, as he took home the IMCA Northern Sport Modified feature victory. Egge started on the pole and hung around the top five until he took the lead on lap 11 and never looked back. Gothenburg, Nebraska’s Jamey Kennicutt found his groove to earn a runner-up finish from his third row starting position. Heat race winner Dillon Schultz of North Platte, Nebraska displayed great consistency in powering his way to a third place finish on the podium. Gibbon’s Chad Dolan won his heat race in fine fashion and was pulling way from the field as he led lap 2-10, before sliding over the cushion on the restart of lap 11. Dolan recovered quite nicely in taking home fourth place accolades. Rick Putnam of Gothenburg avoided incidents and worked the track with his great driving skill to finish fifth overall.
 Running away was Casey Werkmeister of Maywood, Nebraska in the IMCA Stock Car Feature, after he took the lead on lap five and never looked back. Werkmeister also claimed a heat race win in fine fashion in earlier evening action. Keeping it in the family, Casey’s brother Kyle Werkmeister was second overall in the feature race as he charged forward from his fifth row starting position. Scoring a podium finish in his Ford Thunderbird was Jed Williams of Shickley in third place. Early leader Dave Easterday of Riverdale, Nebraska stayed out of trouble and kept his nose clean to take home third place honors. Easterday paced the field for the initial four laps of the event. Having one of his best finishes of this young 2013 season, Overton’s Bob Hoing was fifth overall. Finishing just outside of the top five, was heat race winner Dana Morgan of Kearney.
 Winning his third straight IMCA Hobby Stock Feature at Dawson County Raceway was Jason Wilkinson of Neligh, Nebraska. Wilkinson snared the lead on lap two, as he nipped Norfolk’s Tiffany Bittner at the line. Bittner led the first lap and was able to stay in contention and take home show position accolades. Putting the pressure on Wilkinson in the waning laps was Gibbon hot rod Kyle Bond. Bond started five rows back in the feature and was able to work through traffic to finish as the runner-up position. Dillon Thompson of Campbell, Nebraska and Amherst’s Ethan Kenney conquered the Lexington oval to take home fourth and fifth place honors, respectively.
 Leading from start to finish and cruising to the IMCA Sport Compact feature victory was Grand Island hotshoe David Dembowski. Crossing the finish line in second was heat race victor Scott Brown of Bellevue. Farnam’s David Earhart and Justin Schmidt of Grand Island earned third and fourth place honors.

--Modified Feature: 1. 97m-David Murray Jr; 2. 50c-Colton Osborn; 3. 2w-Casey Delp; 4. 29e-Brooke Eilts; 5. 98-Eddie Edwards; 6. XII-Jay Steffens; 7. 1xjr-Cody Blessing; 8. 3rw-Ronnie Wallace; 9. 506c-Bo Egge; 10. 6c-Cale Osborn; 11. 4p-Davie Pedersen; 12. 19-Chuck Stryker; 13. 66-Tyler Smith.
 --Heat 1: 1. 19-Stryker; 2. 97m-Murray Jr.; 3. XII-Steffens; 4. 50c-Osborn; 5. 98-Edwards.
 --Heat 2: 1. 6c-Osborn; 2. 2w-Delp; 3. 506c-Egge; 4. 3rw-Wallace; 4. 66-Smith.
--Northern Sport Modified Feature: 1. 1x-Denny Egge; 2. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 3. 55d-Dillon Schultz; 4. 87d-Chad Dolan; 5. 4p-Rick Putnam; 6. 25-Toph Harmon; 7. 68-Craigh Howard; 8. 13-Terry Dressel; 9. 20-Hunter Cantrall; 10. 52-Dean Wilkinson; 11. 1-Paul Donavan; 12. 0-Bryan Herrick; 13. 79s-James Stewart; 14. 12j-Kerry Jones; 15. 7-Vince Leibert.
 --Heat 1: 1. 87d-Dolan; 2. 15k-Kennicutt; 3. 68-Howard; 4. 0-Herrick; 5. 1-Donavan.
 --Heat 2: 1. 55d-Dillon Schultz; 2. 1x-Denny Egge; 3. 4p-Rick Putnam; 5. 25-Toph Harmon.
--Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 0-Kyle Bond; 3. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 4. 11-Dillon Thompson; 5. 30pk-Ethan Kenney; 6. 9a-Anthony Martin; 7. 26-Ryan Gardine; 8. 26x-Russ Speck; 9. 04-Sal Hernandez; 10. 44-Caleb Hetrick; 11. 7t-Tyson Canas; 12. 72h-Kevin Hagan; 13. 53e-Tyler Easterday; 14. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 15. 9t-Theron Martin; 16. 16d-Dalton James; 17. 80-Jim Rayburn.
 --Heat 1: 1. 04-Sal; 2. 26-Gardine; 3. 72h-Hagan; 4. 7t-Tyson Canas; 5. 16d-James.
 --Heat 2: 1. 52-Wilkinson; 2. 95b-Bittner; 3. 0-Bond; 4. 30pk-Kenney; 5. 53e-Tyler Easterday.
 --Heat 3: 1. 80-Rayburn; 2. 26x-Specht; 3. 44-Hetrick; 4. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 9t-Theron Martin.
--Sport Compacts: 1. 52-David Dembowski; 2. 619j-Scott Brown; 3. 22e-David Earhart; 4. 29e-Justin Schmidt.
 --Heat: 1. 619j-Brown; 52-Dembowski; 3. 22e-Earhart; 4. 29e-Schmidt.




Source: Kelly Ninas


Front & Back of T Shirt

Jeff Whiting
Copyright © 2015 Tamie Thurn Powered by NITROQUEST