Dawson County Raceway
NewsSchedulePointsSponsorsPhotosDriversGearRulesTrack InfoLinks
News & Results
Sunday, May 26, 2013
Racing Action Heats up at Dawson County Raceway

Holding off all challengers was Neligh, Nebraska's Jason Wilkinson during the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature on Sunday evening in Lexington, Nebraska.
The Pits were packed and the racing action was red-hot on Sunday night at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Nebraska. Stepping into the winners circle was David Murray Jr, Dillon Schultz, Casey Werkmeister, Jason Wilkinson and David Dembowski.
 Grabbing the lead near the halfway point, David Murray Jr of Oberlin, Kansas was masterful in working through lap traffic the best and snaring the lead on lap nine and driving his way to the checkered flag in the IMCA Modified Feature. Finding a fast lane right next to the inside berm, Cale Osborn of Cozad, Nebraska drove his way to the front in the initial laps and was among the contenders for the win for much of the race. Osborn drove his way to a runner-up finish. Running around the top, Rockin’ Ronnie Wallace used the cushion to carry the momentum around the oval and earn a podium finish of third place. Rounding out your top five was North Platte hardcharger Andrew Dillenburg and heat race winner Colton Osborn of Cozad, who finished fourth and fifth overall. North Platte speedster Jay Steffens won an early in the night heat race also.
 The race of inches best describes the IMCA Northern Sport Modified feature that saw six lead changes with North Platte youngster Dillon Schultz garnering the lead the final time and most important time to notch the Feature victory. Schultz led the first four laps and then see-sawed the lead with Chad Dolan for much of the rest of the Feature until Schultz paced the field for the final two laps. Veteran racer Denny Egge of Kearney, Nebraska knows how to get around the Lexington oval fast and on Sunday night he did it again in charging to a runner-up finish. Earning the hard charger accolades would be an understatement for Arapahoe, Nebraska racer Toph Harmon, who finished third after starting in the eighth row at the onset. In the finals laps of the race, Lexington’s Vince Leibert had a stellar restart and was looking to grab the lead before an accident occurred involving numerous racecars. Leibert recovered quite nicely to finish fourth overall. Paul Donavan scored the fifth place finish after racing his way from the back row at the drop of the green flag.
 Putting on a dominating performance was Casey Werkmeister of Maywood, Nebraska in the IMCA Stock Car Feature. Werkmeister worked his way into the lead on lap two and never looked back to notch the victory. Keeping it in the family, Casey’s brother Kyle Werkmeister was second overall after leading lap one and then comfortable setting into the runner-up position. Heat race winner Kurt Trusty of Wallace, Nebraska was third overall after hanging around the top five all night long. Getting up on the wheel was Brendan Eilts of Grand Island, Nebraska and his efforts paid off to earn a fourth place finish in his Chevy Monte Carlo. Racing his way to a top five finish was Cozad, Nebraska’s Robert Walker.
 Stepping to the forefront once again with his second consecutive victory at Dawson County Raceway, Jason Wilkinson of Neligh, Nebraska got to the front early and was able to drive away with the win in the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature. During the final laps that were riddled with cautions, Kyle Bond of Gibbon tried to work his magic to garner the lead, but was forced to settle for runner-up accolades. Making a successful return to DCR was Anthony Martin, the Wilcox wheelman piloted his new rocketship to a third place finish. Jim Rayburn of Gibbon and Grand Island’s Caleb Hetrick rounded out the top five finishers in fourth and fifth, respectively.
 Grand Island hotshoe David Dembowksi led from the green flag to the checkered flag to put on an impressive run in the IMCA Sport Compacts Feature. Finishing second in his first time at the DCR oval was Bellevue’s Scott Brown. Earning accolades for their efforts on the oval were David Earhart of Farnam in third and Tara Gaughenbaugh of North Platte in fourth overall.
Unofficial Results:
--Modified Feature: 1. 97m-David Murray Jr; 2. 6c-Cale Osborn; 3. 3rw-Ronnie Wallace; 4. 71-Andrew Dillenburg; 5. 50c-Colton Osborn; 6. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 7. 50-Scott Smith; 8. 19-Chuck Stryker; 9. 1xjr-Cody Blessing; 10. 39-Scott Eaton; 11. 29e-Brook Eilts; 12. 24jt-Jeff Linner; 13. 66-Tyler Smith; 14. 506c-Bo Egge; 15. 98-Eddie Edwards; 16. XII-Jay Steffens.
 --Heat 1: 1. XII-Jay Steffens; 2. 6c-Cale Osborn; 3. 3rw-Ronnie Wallace; 4. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 5. 98-Eddie Edwards.
 --Heat 2: 1. 50c-Colton Osborn; 2. 97m-David Murray; 3. 19-Chuck Stryker; 4. 1xjr-Cody Blessing; 5. 71-Andrew Dillenburg.
--Northern Sport Modified Feature: 1. 55d-Dillon Schultz; 2. 1x-Denny Egge; 3. 25-Toph Harmon; 4. 13-Terry Dressel; 5. 7-Vince Leibert; 6. 1-Paul Donavan; 7. 4p-Rick Putnam; 8. 87d-Chad Dolan; 9. 19-Jimmy Berkevich; 10. 0-Bryan Herrick; 11. 20b-Brandon Clough; 12. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 13. 68-Craig Howard; 14. 72h-Jim Hagan; 15. 18c-Ryan Moser; 16. 12j-Kerry Jones.
 --Heat 1: 1. 68-Craig Howard; 2. 0-Bryan Herrick; 3. 13-Terry Dressel; 4. 52-Dean Wilkinson; 5. 20-Hunter Cantrall.
 --Heat 2: 1. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 2. 55d-Dillon Schultz; 3. 87d-Chad Dolan; 4. 1-Paul Donavan.
 --Heat 3: 1. 12j-Kerry Jones; 2. 20b-Brandon Clough; 3. 4p-Rick Putnam; 4. 18c-Ryan Moser.
 --Heat 4: 1. 1x-Denny Egge; 2. 19-Jimmy Berkevich; 3. 72h-Jim Hagan; 4. 1tk-Ted Kutsch.
--Stock Car Feature: 1. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 2. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 3. 20b-Brandon Clough; 4. 29e-Brendan Eilts; 5. 72-Robert Walker; 6. 99-Dave Easterday; 7. 33oz-Ozzie Romero; 8. 09h-Bob Hoing; 9. 24-Bob Chalupa; 10. 00-Sara Klein; 11. j3d-Jed Williams; 12. 45-Mike Kress; 13. 57-Dan Stoll; 14. 57x-Scott Stoll; 15. 31-Darin Racek; 16. 19-Dana Morgan; 17. 6e-Brad Easterday.
 --Heat 1: 1. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 2. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 3. 99-Dave Easterday; 4. 29e-Brendan Eilts; 5. 72-Robert Walker.
 --Heat 2: 1. 20b-Brandon Clough; 2. 24-Bob Chalupa; 3. 00-Sara Klein; 4. 33oz-Ozzie Romero; 5. 6e-Brad Easterday.
--Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 0-Kyle Bond; 3. 9a-Anthony Martin; 4. 80-Jim Rayburn; 5. 44-Caleb Hetrick; 6. 11-Dillon Thompson; 7. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 8. 26-Ryan Gardine; 9. 9t-Theron Martin; 10. 26x-Russ Speck; 11. 53e-Tyler Easterday; 12. 29-Jeromy Wagner; 13. 2x-Travis Kernick; 14. 72h-Kevin Hagan; 15. 16d-Dalton James; 16. 30pk-Ethan Kenney; 17. r89-Nate Refior; 18. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 19. 7t-Tyson Canas.
 --Heat 1: 1. 80-Jim Rayburn; 2. 0-Kyle Bond; 3. 11-Dillon Thompson; 4. 44-Caleb Hetrick; 5. r89-Nate Refior.
 --Heat 2: 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 53e-Tyler Easterday; 3. 26x-Russ Speck; 4. 7t-Tyson Canas; 5. 9t-Theron Martin.
 --Heat 3: 1. 72h-Kevin Hagan; 2. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 3. 26-Ryan Gardine; 4. 30pk-Ethan Kenney; 5. 16d-Dalton James.
--Sport Compact Feature: 1. 52-David Dembowski; 2. 619j-Scott Brown; 3. 22e-David Earhart; 4. 40t-Tara Gaughenbaugh.
 --Heat: 1. 52-David Dembowski; 2. 619j-Scott Brown; 3. 22e-David Earhart; 4. 88j-Jacob Olmstead; 5. 40t-Tara Gaughenbaugh.

Source: Kelly Ninas


Modified Door Panel

Jeremy  Herbst
Copyright © 2015 Tamie Thurn Powered by NITROQUEST