Dawson County Raceway
NewsSchedulePointsSponsorsPhotosDriversGearRulesTrack InfoLinks
News & Results
Sunday, August 12, 2012
Bond Repeats the Trompke Memorial Race!

Running high, wide and handsome was Grand Island's Kyle Bond (0) as he drives past Anthony Martin (9a) of Wilcox in the waning laps to win the Jeremy Trompke Memorial Race for IMCA Hobby Stocks in Lexington, Nebraska on Sunday at the Dawson County Fairgrounds

 With the fair being held and the carnival in town, it wasn’t enough as the fireworks, thunder and lightning created on the dirt provided for a memorable Jeremy Trompke Memorial Night at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington on Sunday. Notching ‘A’ Feature winning honors in the priceless display of speed and consistency was David Murray Jr, Jesse Sobbing, Casey Werkmeister, Kyle Bond and David Dembowski.
 Grabbing a hold of the lead and driving his way to the checkered flags was David Murray Jr, of Oberlin, Kansas in the IMCA Modified Feature on Sunday. Murray led the final 14 laps, but wasn’t about to get past runner-up Jay Steffens of North Platte during his pursuit during the opening six laps. Steffen hugged the inside berm and was able to lead the way during the initial laps of the main event. Earning the hard charger award was the Brady Bullet, Dave Pedersen. The Brady hotrod piloted by Pedersen was third overall as he drove his way into contention for a podium spot from the back row of the starting grid. Rounding out your top five finishers in the Modified feature were Tyler Iverson of Albion and the Eddyville Flyer, Chuck Stryker, in fourth and fifth place, respectively. Murray and Cole Hodges of Ogallala were the heat race winners.
 Doing what he has done for much of the Summer at Dawson County Raceway, Jesse Sobbing of Glenwood, Iowa was victorious in claiming the Northern Sport Mod feature crown. Sobbing didn’t lead lap one, but was at the front of the field for the remaining 14 laps to go along with his heat race win. Heat race winner Jamey Kennicutt was second overall as he led the first lap and pulled up right behind on numerous occasions throughout the feature event. The veteran experience of Bryan Herrick of Curtis was very valuable to battle the 3/8th mile mystery and finish third overall in the Rubber Duck. Battling against misfortune from being involved in early incidents didn’t prove to be too distraught over their adversity dealt, as Shane Stout of North Platte and Cozad’s Colton Osborn finished in fourth and fifth in the feature event. Toph Harmon of Arapahoe joined Sobbing and Kennicutt in winning heat races on Sunday.
 Leading from the onset until the checkered flags were waved, Maywood’s Casey Werkmeister was credited with the win in the IMCA Stock Car Feature. Werkmeister started on the front row and was able to hold off all challengers to win. Doing everything he could in an attempt to get by Werkmeister was Harlan, Iowa hotshoe Mike Nichols. Nichols worked the cushion and searched for the fastest way around the oval but to no avail was forced to settle for runner-up honors. Both Werkmeister and Nichols notched heat race wins in early evening events. Starting in the second row of the feature event and staying inside the top five for all 20 laps, Kyle Clough of Wallace brought home third place honors. See-sawing back and forth, Kyle Werkmeister of Maywood and Gothenburg’s Jeff Whiting battled it out for fourth position, and when all the dust settled at the conclusion of the contest, Werkmeister was fourth overall and Whiting rounded out the top five finishers.
 It seemed that the competition for the coveted Trompke Trophy brought out the best in the IMCA Hobby Stock drivers, as Grand Island’s Kyle Bond was a man on a mission, riding the berm and cushion on the ragged edge with success to repeat as the victor in the memorial race. Heat race winner Bond garnered the lead for the final three laps and never looked back. The Wilcox Wheelman Anthony Martin was the runner-up as he held ship in second place behind Bond after leading from lap two through lap twelve when he was passed on the high side. Winning heat races Jason Wilkinson of Neligh and Tyler Andreasen of Grand Island set themselves up for successful feature nights on the Dawson County Raceway oval, as they stayed consistent throughout the extended dash to finish third and fourth overall. Having a stellar season on the circuit, Hasting’s Jamie Porterfield capped the top five finishers earning fifth place accolades.
 Doing his best to put on a show in the IMCA Sport Compact feature, Grand Island’s David Dembowski picked up his second straight Feature win at the Dawson County Raceway.
 This upcoming Sunday night is championship night at Dawson County Raceway with the gates opening up at 5 p.m., hot laps are scheduled for 5:45 and the first green flags drops at 6:30 p.m.

Unofficial Results
Modified Feature: 1. 97m-David Murray Jr; 2. XII-Jay Steffens; 3. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 4. 98t-Tyler Iverson; 5. 19-Chuck Stryker; 6. 34jw-Cole Hodges; 7. 6c-Cale Osborn; 8. 7a-Steve Aitken; 9. 1x-Cody Blessing; 10. 24jt-Jeff Linner.
 Heat 1: 1. 34jw-Cole Hodges; 2. 7a-Steve Aitken; 3. 6c-Cale Osborn; 4. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 5. 19-Chuck Stryker.
 Heat 2: 1. 97m-David Murray Jr; 2. 98t-Tyler Iverson; 3. XII-Jay Steffens; 4. 1x-Cody Blessing; 5. 24jt-Jeff Linner.
Northern Sport Mod Feature: 1. 99-Jesse Sobbing; 2. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 3. 0-Bryan Herrick; 4. 5s-Shane Stout; 5. 50-Colton Osborn; 6. 7-Vince Leibert; 7. 25-Toph Harmon; 8. 72h-Jim Hagan; 9. 68-Craig Howard; 10. 4p-Rick Putnam; 11. 12j-Kerry Jones; 12. 28-Alex Silos; 13. 69-Adam Kackmeister; 14. 15kos-Robby Kosmacek; 15. 1x-Denny Egge; 16. 55d-Dillon Schultz; 17. 52p-Brandon Poessnecker; 18. 11-James Libra.
 Heat 1: 1. 99-Jesse Sobbing; 2. 1x-Denny Egge; 3. 5s-Shane Stout; 4. 4p-Rick Putnam; 5. 28-Alex Silos.
 Heat 2: 1. 25-Toph Harmon; 2. 11-James Libra; 3. 69-Adam Kackmeister; 4. 15kos-Robby Kosmacek.
 Heat 3: 1. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 2. 0-Bryan Herrick; 3. 68-Craig Howard; 4. 55d-Dillon Schultz.
Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 0-Kyle Bond; 2. 9a-Anthony Martin; 3. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 4. 13t-Tyler Andreasen; 5. 11p-Jamie Porterfield; 6. 26-Ryan Gardine; 7. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 8. 30a-Adam Morgan; 9. 26x-Russ Speck; 10. 19-Dana Morgan; 11. 30pk-Ethan Kenney; 12. 72h-Kevin Hagan; 13. 02-Sal Hernandez; 14. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 15. 12-Jim Buss; 16. 72b-Jacob Hagan.
 Heat 1: 1. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 11p-Jamie Porterfield; 3. 02-Sal Hernandez; 4. 9a-Anthony Martin; 5. 30a-Adam Morgan.
 Heat 2: 1. 13t-Tyler Andreasen; 2. 12-Jim Buss; 3. 26x-Russ Speck; 4. 72b-Jacob Hagan; 5. 19-Dana Morgan.
 Heat 3: 1. 0-Kyle Bond; 2. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 3. 72h-Kevin Hagan; 4. 30pk-Ethan Kenney; 5. 26-Ryan Gardine.
Sport Compact Feature: 1. 52-David Dembowski; 2. 12s-Dalton Smith.

Source: Kelly Ninas


Modified Door Panel

Adam Kackmeister
Copyright © 2015 Tamie Thurn Powered by NITROQUEST